COMPETITION: Maurice Daumas Prize 2021

The Maurice Daumas Prize for papers on the history of technology is sponsored by the Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France, and consists of 500 Euro. Each year the prize-winning article is presented and discussed at a special session…

The Maurice Daumas Prize for papers on the history of technology is sponsored by the Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France, and consists of 500 Euro. Each year the prize-winning article is presented and discussed at a special session of the ICOHTEC symposium immediately following the award. An additional 300 Euro is available to the winner in support of traveling to the conference to receive the prize. The prize aims to encourage innovative scholarship in the history of technology. ICOHTEC is interested in the history of technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

The prize will be awarded to the author of the best article submitted which deals with the history of technology in any period of the past or in any part of the world and which was published in a journal or edited volume in last two consequent years. Eligible for the prize are original articles published in (or later translated into) any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish). Submissions are welcomed from scholars of any country who are currently in graduate school or have received their doctorate within the last seven years.

Call for submissions 2020
ICOHTEC, welcomes submissions for the Maurice Daumas Prize for 2020. Eligible for the prize are original articles published in 2019 or 2020.

Please send your submission and a brief (not to exceed one-page) cv to each of the six Prize Committee members no later than 15 January 2021. Electronic submissions are preferred. The winner will be contacted in late April 2020.

The prize will be awarded at our 48th Symposium, 25-31 July 2021, which will be a part of the (Virtual) 26th International Congress of History of Science and Technology (it was originally scheduled to be held in Prague, Czech Republic). The winner will receive a cash prize of Euro 500 as well as a travel grant up to 300 Euro (if needed) to attend the ICOHTEC Symposium, which will feature a special panel organized around the winning article. Alongside the first prize, articles in the second and third-ranking positions will receive an honorarium/diploma award.

Maria Elvira Callapez, PI. Dr., [Prize Committee Chairperson],
CIUHCT, Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal

Antoni Roca-Rosell, Dr.
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Barcelona, Catalunya, Spain

Eike-Christian Heine, Dr.
Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany

Francesco Gerali
IEEE Pugh Scholar – IEEE History Center, Hoboken, NJ, USA

Laurent Heyberger, Dr.
Université de technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France

Liliia Zemnukhova, PhD
Sociological Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences (SI RAN), St. Petersburg,
Russian Federation

Lino Camprubí, Dr.
Universidad de Sevilla, Facultad de Filosofía, Spain

2020 Prize winner
The winner of Maurice Daumas Prize in 2020 is Luke Keogh, Senior Curator at the National Wool Museum in Geelong, Australia, for his paper “The Wardian Case: Environmental Histories of a Box for Moving Plants” published in 2019 in Environment and History, 25, 219-244.

2019 : Suvobrata Sarkar for his paper “The Electrification of Colonial Calcutta: Role of the Innovators, Bureaucrats and Foreign Business Organization, 1880-1940” published in Studies in History 34.1 (2017): 48-76. DOI: 10.1177/0257643017736194

2018 : Mirjam Sarah Brusius, Postdoctoral Researcher at University of Oxford / German Historical Institute, for her paper “Photography’s Fits and Starts: The Search for Antiquity and its Image in Victorian Britain” published in History of Photography, 40.3 (2016): 250-266,DOI: 10.1080/03087298.2016.1209027

2017 : Gemma Cirac Claveras, Postdoctoral Researcher at Laboratoire Techniques, Territoires et Sociétés, France) for her paper “Factories of Satellite Data Remote Sensing and Physical Earth Sciences in France” published in ICON. Journal of the International Committee of the History of Technology, 21 (2015): 24–50. Full text PDF

2016 : William Rankin (Yale University) for his article “The Geography of Radionavigation and the Politics of Intangible Artifacts” published in Technology and Culture, 55.3 (2014): 622-674. DOI: 10.1353/tech.2014.0077

2015 : Stefan Krebs (Université du Luxembourg) “‘Dial-gauge versus Senses 1-0’: German Car Mechanics and the Introduction of New Diagnostic Equipment 1950-1980” published in Technology and Culture, 55.2 (2014): 354-389. DOI: 10.1353/tech.2014.0034

2014 : Donna J. Drucker (Technische Universität Darmstadt) for her article “Keying Desire: Alfred Kinsey’s Use of Punched Card Machines for Sex Research” published in Journal of the History of Sexuality, 22.1 (2013): 105-125. DOI: 10.7560/JHS22105

2013 : Nathan Ensmenger (Indiana University) for his article “Is chess the drosophila of artificial intelligence?” published in Social Studies of Science, 42.1 (2012): 5-30. DOI: 10.1177/0306312711424596

2012 : Mara Mills for her article “On Disability and Cybernetics: Helen Keller, Norbert Wiener, and the Hearing Glove” published in Differences, 22.2-3 (2011): 74-111. DOI:

2011 : Joseph Masco (University of Chicago) for his article “Bad Weather: On Planetary Crisis” published in Social Studies of Science, 40.1 (2010): 7-40. DOI:

The call for submissions is announced on this page usually in October of each year, with the deadline for submissions set to following mid-January. The winner is announced early May to give a ample time for arranging travel to pick up the price at our annual symposium, which usually takes place in second half of July.